SUCCESS

A few days ago I re-watched the film “The Devil Wears Prada “and made me think about SUCCESS. Out of curiosity I looked up the word in the dictionary and this is what I found for SUCCESS:

1.(obsolete) Something which happens as a consequence; the outcome or result.

2.The achievement of one’s aim or goal.

 His third attempt to pass the entrance exam was a success.

3.(business) financial profitability.

 Don’t let success go to your head.

4.One who, or that which, achieves assumed goals.

Scholastically, he was a success.

The new range of toys has been a resounding success.

If you ask people what are they thinking of when they hear the word success I’m sure that most of them will answer: fame, wealth, career. What about you? What are you thinking of? Forget about the definition from the dictionary! Close your eyes, take a deep breath and think what does success mean to you? Do you want to know what I’m thinking of? For me success is not all about fame, wealth and career; it’s about achievements but not that kind of achievements .For me a real success is to have a family who loves you for who you are, protects you and believes in you, have friends by your side for better and for worse.  Success is being a good daughter, a good mum,  a good friend, a good person. For me success is to travel around the world and see as much as possible from this beautiful and wonderful world because it has so much to offer.

I guess SUCCESS has different meanings for each of us. But why we always end up thinking about fame, money, career? Are these the only things life is made up? NO!!! Life is made up of little things, is made up of moments, feelings…

Think well when it comes for success!!! It should make you happy, right? Does fame, wealth or career make you happy for long term? I’m not so sure about this. Don’t forget: everything has a price! We tend to envy celebrities but are they really happy? We wouldn’t know. What we see on TV is just a mask. They are humans just like us. Why do we envy them? They have no privacy; everywhere they go everyone is watching them; they have to be careful what they say and do all the time. I don’t think it’s so easy to do that. They are rich. So what? As the saying: money can’t buy happiness. You can be rich but not necessarily happy. Just watch the Hollywood stars: getting divorced, starting to have vices like drinking, drugs, gambling…The last but not the least: career! As I already said everything has a price! You may have a career but this includes hard work and many sacrifices (one of them: being away from your family and friends) Now take another deep breath and ask yourself: do you really want this kind of success? Or you prefer a happy family, good friends, a job (not a career) that makes you happy?

Success should be about how you feel about you and your life. If you take a good look at your life and you are happy and satisfied with what you have achieved, for me that’s success!!! As long as you can say “I have a good life” that’s success!

10 thoughts on “SUCCESS

  1. I agree – for me success is to be happy!

    “When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”
    ― John Lennon

  2. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  3. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  4. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  5. I’m just writing to make you be aware of what a exceptional encounter our girl found using your web site. She learned a lot of things, with the inclusion of what it is like to possess an awesome helping spirit to let other people with no trouble completely grasp various hard to do things. You truly surpassed our desires. Thanks for offering the essential, healthy, revealing not to mention fun guidance on the topic to Jane.

Leave a comment